

An Energy Plan for America's Future

ISSUE

Congress has the opportunity to finalize legislation this year to enhance America's energy security, modernize infrastructure, boost exports, and promote efficiency. ACEC supports the House passed energy bill (H.R. 8) and pending Senate legislation (S. 2012), and urges Congress to send the President a final bill to develop America's energy resources this year.

BACKROUND

Despite recent oil price volatility, the United States is in the midst of an energy revolution. The nation continues to meet more of its energy needs, with greater end-use efficiency and record production of oil, natural gas, and renewable energy. Energy imports reached record lows in 2014. With the recent lifting of the oil export ban and operation of Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) export facilities, energy exports are expected to increase. America's engineering industry continues to play a key role in supporting this expansion of energy markets.

The 114th Congress has made strong progress in moving legislation to enhance energy development and productivity. The House has cleared H.R. 8, the North American Energy Security and Infrastructure Act, which includes provisions to expedite the approval of LNG export facilities and cross border energy infrastructure projects. The measure puts special emphasis on electrical grid resilience, with provisions to enhance emergency response to natural disasters and other threats, and requirements for utilities to develop plans to improve infrastructure and use advanced technologies to mitigate against outages.

The Senate bill—S. 2012, the Energy Policy and Modernization Act—also includes provisions to speed the permitting of natural gas facilities and electric transmission infrastructure, as well as counter threats to the nation's electrical grid. The bill promotes energy efficiency in public and private buildings through the development of model building codes, and supports the development of cost-effective renewable energy storage technologies. In addition, the measure would create a coordinating committee between the Departments of Energy and Interior to better manage the nation's energy and water policies.

Both bills include strong policies to promote energy markets, helping to make the nation's energy abundant, efficient, affordable, clean, diverse, reliable and secure.

KEY POINTS

- The U.S. continues to benefit from a national energy policy incorporating an "all of the above" strategy that expands the diverse domestic production and delivery of energy resources, i.e., fossil fuels, nuclear, renewables, energy efficiency and storage.
- House and Senate energy bills include strong policies to protect and modernize energy infrastructure, improve regulatory processes, and promote efficiency.
- Congress has a unique opportunity in 2016 to come together on a consensus energy package that will enhance America's energy security and promote jobs and economic growth.

North American Energy Security and Infrastructure Act of 2015 H.R. 8 AYES (249)

$\operatorname{ALLS}(24)$								
Abraham	Calvert	Duffy	Green, Gene	Jordan	McCarthy	Perry	Royce	Upton
Aderholt	Carter (GA)	Duncan (SC)	Griffith	Joyce	McCaul	Peterson	Russell	Valadao
Allen	Carter (TX)	Duncan (TN)	Grothman	Katko	McClintock	Pittenger	Salmon	Wagner
Amodei	Chabot	Ellmers (NC)	Guinta	Kelly (MS)	McHenry	Pitts	Sanford	Walberg
Ashford	Chaffetz	Emmer (MN)	Guthrie	Kelly (PA)	McKinley	Poe (TX)	Scalise	Walden
Babin	Clawson (FL)	Farenthold	Hanna	King (IA)	McMorris Rodgers	Poliquin	Schrader	Walker
Barletta	Coffman	Fincher	Hardy	King (NY)	McSally	Pompeo	Schweikert	Walorski
Barr	Cole	Fitzpatrick	Harper	Kinzinger (IL)	Meadows	Posey	Scott, Austin	Walters, Mimi
Barton	Collins (GA)	Fleischmann	Harris	Kirkpatrick	Meehan	Price, Tom	Sensenbrenner	Weber (TX)
Benishek	Collins (NY)	Fleming	Hartzler	Kline	Messer	Ratcliffe	Sessions	Webster (FL)
Bilirakis	Comstock	Flores	Heck (NV)	Knight	Mica	Reed	Shimkus	Wenstrup
Bishop (MI)	Conaway	Forbes	Hensarling	Kuster	Miller (FL)	Reichert	Shuster	Westerman
Bishop (UT)	Cook	Fortenberry	Herrera Beutler	Labrador	Miller (MI)	Renacci	Simpson	Westmoreland
Black	Costa	Foxx	Hice, Jody B.	LaHood	Moolenaar	Ribble	Sinema	Whitfield
Blackburn	Costello (PA)	Franks (AZ)	Hill	LaMalfa	Mooney (WV)	Rice (SC)	Smith (MO)	Wilson (SC)
Blum	Cramer	Frelinghuysen	Holding	Lamborn	Mullin	Rigell	Smith (NE)	Wittman
Bost	Crawford	Garrett	Hudson	Lance	Mulvaney	Roby	Smith (NJ)	Womack
Boustany	Crenshaw	Gibbs	Huelskamp	Latta	Murphy (PA)	Roe (TN)	Smith (TX)	Woodall
Brady (TX)	Culberson	Gibson	Huizenga (MI)	LoBiondo	Neugebauer	Rogers (AL)	Stefanik	Yoder
Brat	Curbelo (FL)	Gohmert	Hultgren	Long	Newhouse	Rogers (KY)	Stewart	Yoho
Bridenstine	Davis, Rodney	Goodlatte	Hunter	Loudermilk	Noem	Rohrabacher	Stivers	Young (AK)
Brooks (AL)	Denham	Gosar	Hurd (TX)	Love	Nugent	Rokita	Stutzman	Young (IA)
Brooks (IN)	Dent	Gowdy	Hurt (VA)	Lucas	Nunes	Rooney (FL)	Thompson (PA)	Young (IN)
Buchanan	DeSantis	Graham	Issa	Luetkemeyer	Olson	Ros-Lehtinen	Thornberry	Zeldin
Buck	DesJarlais	Granger	Jenkins (KS)	Lummis	Palazzo	Roskam	Tiberi	Zinke
Bucshon	Diaz-Balart	Graves (GA)	Jenkins (WV)	MacArthur	Palmer	Ross	Tipton	
Burgess	Dold	Graves (LA)	Johnson (OH)	Marchant	Paulsen	Rothfus	Trott	
Byrne	Donovan	Graves (MO)	Jolly	Marino	Pearce	Rouzer	Turner	
NOES (174)								
A		D.F.			Lowenthal	NT-1	Cínchan Linda T	T
Adams Amash	Carson (IN)	DeFazio DeGette	Fudge Gabbard	Johnson (GA)	Lowey	Nolan Norcross	Sánchez, Linda T. Sarbanes	Tsongas Van Hollen
	Cartwright			Johnson, E. B.	'			
Bass	Castor (FL)	Delaney	Gallego Common di	Jones	Lujan Grisham (NM)	O'Rourke Pallone	Schakowsky	Vargas
Beatty Becerra	Castro (TX) Chu, Judy	DeLauro DelBene	Garamendi Grayson	Kaptur Keating	Luján, B.R. (NM) Lynch	Panone Pascrell	Schiff Scott (VA)	Veasey Vela
Bera	Cicilline	DeSaulnier	Green, Al	Kelly (IL)	Maloney, Carolyn	Pelosi	Scott, David	Velázquez
Beyer	Clark (MA)	Deutch	Grijalva	Kennedy	Maloney, Sean	Perlmutter	Serrano	Visclosky
Bishop (GA)	Clarke (NY)	Dingell	Gutiérrez	Kildee	Massie	Peters	Sewell (AL)	Walz
Blumenauer	Clay	Doggett	Hahn	Kilmer	Matsui	Pingree	Sherman	Wasserman Schultz
Bonamici	Cleaver	Doyle, Michael	Hastings	Kind	McCollum	Pocan	Sires	Waters, Maxine
Boyle, Brendan	Clyburn	Duckworth	Heck (WA)	Langevin	McDermott	Polis	Slaughter	Watson Coleman
Brady (PA)	Cohen	Edwards	Higgins	Larsen (WA)	McGovern	Price (NC)	Smith (WA)	Welch
Brown (FL)	Connolly	Ellison	Himes	Larson (CT)	McNerney	Quigley	Speier	Wilson (FL)
Brownley (CA)	Conyers	Engel	Hinojosa	Lee	Meng	Rangel	Swalwell (CA)	Yarmuth
Bustos	Cooper	Eshoo	Honda	Levin	Moore	Rice (NY)	Takano	Turrituti
Butterfield	Courtney	Esty	Hoyer	Lewis	Moulton	Richmond	Thompson (CA)	
Capps	Crowley	Farr	Huffman	Lieu, Ted	Murphy (FL)	Roybal-Allard	Thompson (MS)	
Capuano	Cummings	Fattah	Israel	Lipinski	Nadler	Ruiz	Titus	
Cárdenas	Davis (CA)	Foster	Jackson Lee	Loebsack	Napolitano	Rush	Tonko	
Carney	Davis, Danny	Frankel (FL)	Jeffries	Lofgren	Neal	Ryan (OH)	Torres	
Not Voting (10)								
		Aguilar	Johnson, Sam	Meeks	Ruppersberger	Takai		
		Cuellar	Lawrence	Payne	Sanchez Loretta	Williams		

Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources

Payne

Republicans Lisa Murkowski (AK) *Chairwoman*

Lawrence

Cuellar

John Barrasso (WY) Jim Risch (ID) Mike Lee (UT) Jeff Flake (AZ) Steve Daines (MT) Bill Cassidy (LA) Cory Gardner (CO) Rob Portman (OH) John Hoeven (ND) Lamar Alexander (TN) Shelley Moore Capito (WV)

Democrats

Sanchez, Loretta

Williams

Maria Cantwell (WA) *Ranking Member*

Ron Wyden (OR) Bernie Sanders (VT) (I) Debbie Stabenow (MI) Al Franken (MN) Joe Manchin (WV) Martin Heinrich (NM) Mazie Hirono (HI) Angus King (ME) (I) Elizabeth Warren (MA)